Thursday, 29 January 2009

Random thoughts...

So finally after a very long break I decided to update the blog. So I had a fab three weeks vacation in India, and one of those weeks was solely in Goa. Sun, beaches, sand, water, friends, a wedding and MOST importantly...FISH. A totally different experience of doing a road trip to Goa with friends, a full-on masti bhara wedding, first time ever para sailing (yes baby!)...a few highlights of the Goa trip. Back in Bombay had a good time meeting up with old friends, spending evenings at Barista (which has become ridiculously expensive), meeting eM finally (yea she signed the book for me), meeting a few new people. All in all full paisa vasool trip.

Work has now started again full-swing and I am back to my daily routine, which is also actually great. What is distressing although is reading the newspapers again. In those three weeks in India if there was one thing that I religiously did, then it was staying away from the news (which would have probably depressed me anyways). So now we have the Ram Sena joining the bandwagon of moral policing. So sometime in the afternoon these guys decide to show up at a pub in Manglore and start thrashing up the ppl there (girls included). Apparently women going to pubs is now against the Indian culture....

It's very easy to get very passionate about this and therefore I shall refrain from making any strong statements about the Indian culture. What I do understand is that India is a democracy and in a democracy the population has been given certain freedom and certain rights, one of which I would like to believe is the right to have a good time (so long as you are not disturbing others). But no... apparently Indian women bring shame to the society by going to pubs (never mind the fact that Indian men visiting dance bars is perfectly acceptable). When are we going to grow up and start behaving like a country that actually has survived 60 years of democracy? Why is it so easy for one person to ignite such passionately ruthless emotions among so many others who then decide to just blindly follow what this person is preaching? I mean dude wtf is wrong with these people? What is it that makes them so driven by emotions that they actually start pulling women by their hair and just beating them?

I don't quite have the answers to all these, but the only thing I can think of is that there are way too many people in the country who don't have a whole lot to do, and apparently we must also be having quite a few people who must be pretty articulate. Honestly, all you need is a good speaker and he/she will be able to arouse all those passionate feelings in the public just like that...And to think if only those people put all that energy to constructive purposes......Unfortunately a lot is dependent on that two letter word...IF. If 'if's' and 'and's' were pots and pans then there would be no tinkers!

No comments: